Friday, April 29, 2005

Price for honesty! or Punishment for Stupidity?

Rediff reports that Shoaib Malik could face disciplinary action after he admitted that his side threw a game to knock another team out. Read the entire article here

My initial reaction was...what’s wrong with it? He did not bowl underarm or bat with an aluminum bat or tamper the ball? He did not do anything illegal. He just circumvented the rules so that he could seek his revenge.

Reason for revenge, according to Cricinfo..

Malik claims he was protesting against an earlier result in the tournament, when the Lahore Eagles were controversially awarded a victory against his side due to a penalty imposed for slow over-rates. Newspapers reported that Malik had constantly asked the umpires whether they were behind the over-rate and had been told they weren't. It was only later, after the match was over, that the Lahore Eagles manager complained to the match referee, who then overturned the verdict.
The entire article can be found here

I was thinking that just because he accepted the truth, he was going to be penalized. The only thing that looked stupid to me was that he actually admitted it. What would have happened had he kept quiet or said that he actually tried hard, but the bowling was good, ball became slower, etc.? Australia & New Zealand have both done exactly the same thing (remember Aus Vs WI in the world cup and also remember NZ’s revenge..when they made sure that Aus does not make the VB final) It was defined as Strategy when they did it.

Now just imagine this scenario. Sialkot Stallions (Shoaib Malik’s team) require 200 to win in 20 overs so that Lahore Eagles do not advance to the next stage. Now if Shoaib Malik makes a 100 of 30 balls and inspires his team to win and then goes on to say that the reason he played such an aggressive knock was because he did not want Lahore Eagles to go to the next stage....Will anyone then accuse Shoaib Malik’s of bringing the game into disrespect?

Also, this guy has actually made 88 of 53 balls (see the complete scorecard here) Now wait…there is a new controversy that has come up.

According to Cricinfo..

In a further twist, the The News, a Pakistan based daily, reported that had Sialkot won, they would have reached the next stage of the competition thereby implying that Malik's move had backfired. Had Sialkot won, they would have been tied on points with Lahore, whose run-rate was significantly lower than Sialkot's - a point Malik seemed to be unaware of.
Read the entire article here

So he has actually miscalculated the whole equation and has lost the match & a place for his team in the next round AND has bragged about it in the press conference! Lol…wow! What an Idiot. Just imagine, how the Lahore Eagles team members & fans will taunt him in the future …hilarious…go ahead now and fine this stupid guy, even ban him…Strategists can be pardoned NOT stupids.

4 Comments:

At Fri Apr 29, 07:59:00 PM EDT, Blogger Narayanan Venkitu said...

Of late I am very frustrated with the Pak Media, PCB and also the players' remarks.

I thought BCCI was a bunch of jokers.! I think I'll have to reconsider.!

 
At Sat Apr 30, 12:35:00 AM EDT, Blogger tifoc said...

Yeah, I guess the Indo-Pak rivalry extends to the administration as well! they compete at who is more absurd ;-)

 
At Mon May 02, 08:21:00 AM EDT, Anonymous Maverick said...

Well...Shoaib Malilk could not keep track of the overall run rate between his team and Lahore's. How about Sachin almost making the mistake of having the field spread when only 1 run was required off the last ball when bowling to Inzy in the recently conculded ODI series. It took a lot of convincing from Kaif, Dravid and Ganguly to make him realise that it was actually just one run required and not two as he thought. Infact, the equation was 1 reqd off 3 balls and he still had his field spread for two balls and fortunately didn't pay for that mistake. :-)

 
At Mon May 02, 12:42:00 PM EDT, Blogger tifoc said...

Good point about Sachin..I did not see the match, I just watched the highlights..I was actually surprised that Sachin miscaulculated...he has one of the best cricketing brains...but as you rightly pointed out...he didnt pay for it in those two balls!

 

Post a Comment

<< Home